Learn more about the history of autonomous vehicles in California, including the development of driverless testing programs and deployment regulations.
December 16, 2015 – The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) released the draft deployment regulations for review. Two public workshops were held to allow interested parties to provide input on the draft regulations.
September 30, 2016 – DMV released the revised draft deployment regulations and held a public workshop on the draft regulations on October 19, 2016, at the State Capitol.
March 10, 2017 – The proposed regulations to establish a path for the testing and deployment of fully autonomous vehicles in California were published and began the 45-day public comment period. DMV held a public hearing in Sacramento to gather input on the proposed regulations on April 25, 2017.
October 11, 2017 – DMV published revised regulations that cover driverless testing and deployment of autonomous vehicles. The release commenced a 15-day public comment period that ended on October 25, 2017.
November 30, 2017 – DMV released revised regulations for a second 15-day public comment period that ended on December 15, 2017.
January 11, 2018 – DMV submitted the final regulatory package, which covers driverless testing and deployment, to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) for approval.
February 26, 2018 – The OAL approved the driverless testing regulations. On March 2, 2018, DMV posted a public notice of that approval on its website and began approving applications 30 days after the notice on April 2, 2018.
Need something else?
Learn more about autonomous vehicles in California, including regulations, deployment, testing permit holders, and collision reports.
Autonomous Vehicle Deployment Program
The Autonomous Vehicle Deployment Program establishes regulations for manufacturers to meet before they can deploy autonomous vehicles on California’s public roads.
Email us if you have any questions about autonomous vehicles in California. We are here to help!