Contact: Office of Public Affairs
2415 First Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95818
(916) 657–6437 | firstname.lastname@example.org
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
June 20, 2014
DMV Announces Upcoming Public Hearings on AB 60
The Hearings Represent Another Opportunity to Comment on Proposed Regulations
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) announced it will hold two public hearings, one in Southern California and one in Northern California, to receive public comments on the proposed regulations related to the implementation of AB 60, the state law that directs DMV to issue driver licenses to undocumented California residents.
The public hearings will be held, as follows:
|Tuesday, June 24, 2014||Thursday, June 26, 2014|
|10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.||10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.|
|Junipero Serra Building||Caltrans District 4|
|320 W. Fourth Street||111 Grand Avenue|
|Los Angeles, CA||Oakland, CA|
"With these hearings DMV is taking another step towards making the roads safer for all Californians by identifying the documents that will be accepted as proof of identity and residency by those who will benefit from AB 60 and will obtain a California driver license," said DMV Director Jean Shiomoto.
Assembly Bill AB 60 (Chapter 524: Statutes of 2013) requires the department to issue an original driver license to an applicant who is unable to submit satisfactory proof of legal presence in the United States. Driver license applicants under AB 60 must meet all other qualifications for licensure and must provide satisfactory proof of identity and California residency.
AB 60 also requires the department to develop regulations and consult with interested parties in an effort to assist the department in identifying documents that will be acceptable for the purposes of providing documentation to establish identity and residency.
On May 9, 2014, the first proposed set of regulations for AB 60 was published by the Office of Administrative Law (OAL). The publishing of the regulations started a 45-day public comment period, which will end on Monday, June 23, 2014. The proposed regulations and current examples of accepted documents are available in several languages in the DMV web page at http://apps.dmv.ca.gov/ab60/index.html.
The two upcoming public hearings will provide another opportunity to comment on the proposed regulations. Anyone interested in providing a comment will be asked to register and wait for his/her name to be called.
A live webcast of the hearings will be available. For a direct link, please visit the DMV web page at http://apps.dmv.ca.gov/ab60 during the hearings.
After the two public hearings, consideration of the public comment and any necessary revisions, DMV will deliver final regulations to OAL for review and approval. AB 60 requires the DMV to begin issuing licenses to undocumented applicants, no later than January 1, 2015.
Save Time, Go Online! Doing business with the DMV has never been easier. The DMV offers an array of services to customers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week through its Website including online advance appointments for written and drive tests; vehicle registration and driver license renewals, selection of personalized license plates, changes of address and payment of fees via secure debit transactions. Customers can also effect transactions by calling DMV customer service at (800) 777-0133.DMV is a department under the California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA).