Contact: Office of Public Affairs
2415 First Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95818
(916) 657–6437 | firstname.lastname@example.org
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
December 3, 2014
AB 60 Regulations Approved
SACRAMENTO —– On Monday, December 1, 2014, the Office of Administrative Law approved the emergency regulations to implement Assembly Bill 60 (Statutes 2013, chapter 524). These regulations define the categories of documents DMV will accept to verify the identity and California residence of future AB 60 applicants.
The list of documents that applicants will use to obtain a California driver license under AB 60 is posted on the DMV website. In general, DMV will require fewer documents for proving identity when those documents are secure and electronically verifiable. For more information on AB 60, including sample interactive tests, webcasts, and information about public comment, visit: http://apps.dmv.ca.gov/ab60/index.html
AB 60 applicants will be able to apply for a California driver license starting January 2, 2015, when the new law is implemented.
It is easy to make an appointment to come into a DMV field office; you can make an appointment online, use the DMV now app, or call 1-800-777-0133. Appointments are available up to 90 days in advance for new driver licenses and 45 days in advance for other services.
Save Time, Go Online!Doing business with the DMV has never been easier. The DMV offers an array of services to customers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week through its Website (www.dmv.ca.gov), including online advance appointments for written and drive tests; vehicle registration and driver license renewals, selection of personalized license plates, changes of address and payment of fees via secure debit transactions. Customers can also effect transactions by calling DMV customer service at (800) 777–0133. DMV is a department under the California State Transportation Agency (CalSTA).