Section 4 of 38
Chapter 3: Collection and Payment of Fees and Penalties
3.015 Certificate of Non-Operation (CNO-REG 102)
Chapter 3 Collection and Payment Of Fees and Penalties
3.015 Certificate of Non-Operation (CNO-REG 102) (CVC §4604.2 and CR&TC §10856)
If a vehicle has not been operated, moved, or left standing upon any highway subsequent to the vehicle expiration date and the vehicle is exempt from Planned Nonoperation (PNO) filing, a CNO-REG 102 may be required upon registration of the vehicle.
- The CNO may be signed by the vehicle owner or person in possession of the vehicle and/or who has knowledge of the vehicle’s nonoperation.
- A CNO cannot be signed by power of attorney and cannot be used when the vehicle is required to be currently registered or have a PNO status on record.
- A CNO may be submitted for any period of past time, not future time, and must cover the beginning and ending dates of the period in question.
Exception: The CNO ending date for a partial-year registration (PYR) vehicle may be up to 30 days beyond date the fees are paid (date fees received).
A CNO is required when renewal fees are paid, and:
- The vehicle is exempt from the PNO requirements (example: vehicle of historical interest) and has not been operated since the expiration date.
- A vehicle registered as PYR has not been operated since the PYR expiration.
Example: PYR fees are paid through April 30. The vehicle has not been operated since that date and fees are paid in June for four more months. Fees must be paid prior to first operation.
- The vehicle was deleted from an International Registration Plan (IRP) fleet and not operated since the date of deletion.
- If a Statement of Facts (REG 256) form includes the fact that the vehicle has not been operated since the date of deletion, a separate CNO is not required.
- The vehicle is no longer on the department records (unavailable records).
- If a REG 256 submitted to meet the unavailable record requirement includes a statement that the vehicle has not been operated since _(date)____ , a separate CNO is not required.
- A commercial vehicle going from PNO status to registered status with the date of first operation as a future date.
- The CNO date can be up to 75 days beyond the “Date Fees Received”.
- A PYR vehicle is applying for PNO status.
- The CNO date can be up to 75 days beyond the “Date Fees Received” for PYR vehicles.
- A PNO application cannot be submitted on a PYR vehicle until the year following the last PYR registration.
CNO Not Required
A CNO is not required:
- From the owner who traded the vehicle to the dealer.
- For a vehicle held in the dealer’s inventory or transferred between dealers if the application contains evidence that the registration was valid when sold by the registered owner to the dealer.
- Evidence of valid registration could be the date of release on the title or bill of sale prior to the registration expiration date.
- For a vehicle moved out of state on a trailer or with a moving permit, not registered in another state, and returns to California in a subsequent registration year.
- A REG 256 with the dates the vehicle left and returned to California must be part of the application.
- Fees must be paid prior to the entry into California unless the vehicle re-enters on a trailer or with a permit.
- For a vehicle moved out of state on a trailer or with a moving permit, not registered in another state, and returns to California in the same registration year.
A CNO cannot be used for a trailer coach, unless it was:
- Unoccupied and held as part of a dealer’s or manufacturer’s inventory for sale.
- Moved in conformance with the CVC provisions relating to dealers, manufacturers, or transporters (CVC §§11715 and 11716).
- Destroyed by fire, flood, or other disaster.
- Located outside of California.
- Owned by a member of a military service and located on a military installation.
- Owned by an Indian Tribal Member while parked off-road on a Federal Indian Reservation or Rancheria.
- Located in a federal enclave (Cabrillo National Monument [except the area within Point Iowa traffic circle], Fort Point National Historic Site, Lassen Volcanic National Park, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, or Yosemite National Park).
Vehicles towed on a highway by a tow vehicle pursuant to a court order or by order of a peace officer are exempt from registration and license fees (CVC §4000).
The sheriff, marshal, or peace officer who authorized the movement must complete a statement giving the authority for movement. This statement may be on a REG 102 or a REG 256.