Section 4 of 38
Chapter 3: Collection and Payment of Fees and Penalties
3.045 Payment of Fees
Chapter 3 Collection and Payment Of Fees and Penalties
3.045 Payment of Fees (CVC §§4000, 5902.5, 9550 and 9553)
Vehicles operated or parked on public roads or in an off-street public parking facility in California must be registered.
Exception: An off-highway vehicle (OHV) which displays an OHV identification plate may be driven, moved, or left standing in an off-street parking facility without being registered or paying registration fees.
All fees required to be paid for registration of a vehicle must be paid within 20 days of the date the fees became due or the fees are subject to a late penalty. Refer to the penalties section in this chapter for exceptions.
California dealers have 30 days from the date of sale on the Report of Sale–Used Vehicle (REG 51) form to submit fees without penalty.
Applications for registration presented within 30 days of the registration expiration date must include the renewal fees in addition to any other fees due.